The coach who took the 1985 Galion Tigers all the way to a state championship is getting statewide recognition of his own.

The Ohio High School Football Coaches Association (OHSFCA) Hall of Fame has announced is 2024 Class, and Coach Owens is included. The full list of inductees is as follows:

Dan McSurley – Clinton Massie

Andy Olds – Kings

John Livengood – Norwalk St. Paul

Bob Jacoby – Col. DeSales

Lee Owens – Massillon Washington

Ron Berdis – Youngstown Chaney

Owens began his coaching career at Ashland Crestview in 1981, and was at the helm in Galion from 1983 through 1986. Additional high school positions came at Lancaster and Massillon Washington. He later coached at both the University of Akron and Ashland University.

His complete record can be accessed here.

These coaches were chosen for exemplifying the OHSFCA’s commitment to providing a positive student-centered environment that emphasizes excellence in the classroom as well as in sports.